//
you're reading...
exercise

Achieving a Lean Muscular Body

Part One: New Year and a New Healthier You

Please consult your physician before beginning any new exercise or nutrition plan.

The New Year’s resolution to lose weight has been popular for ages. It is only natural to want to be fit. I want to lose weight. As I turn forty, I’ve noticed my stomach, thighs, and butt could use some shedding of pounds. Although I do exercise at least three times a week, my metabolism has slowed with age and due to other activities my exercise frequency has taken a back seat priority wise. I know I am not alone in my struggle to shed weight and plan on trying to increase my exercise and revamp my diet to make my goals happen. Along the way I will share my techniques and tips for staying active and healthy.

Part one of this series starts with the basics, admitting that something has to change. Part two, the next article will address tackling some key issues in developing an exercise plan. For each of us losing weight, the factors that change will vary but to begin this journey together we will have to take a look at the cold hard facts. Questions we will answer that will lead us to making changes in the most appropriate ways to achieve weight loss and muscle gain. Notice the facts to back up the logic of the questions. Use them to answer honestly and efficiently. Let’s begin journey to a healthier more active lifestyle.

Questions, Facts and My Answers

Question: Do you have any medical conditions or previous surgeries or injuries to take into account when exercising or with nutrition?

Facts: Medical conditions or previous injuries and surgeries determine which exercises are appropriate and safe for our bodies. Consult your doctor with any concerns that may affect your fitness plan. For example, someone with diabetes would have restricted diet and would be advised to seek a nutritionist and get their doctors permission to exercise.

My Answer: I am healthy with only minor problems with digestion. During times of irritated stomach I would avoid any ab (waist) exercises.

Question: How much weight do you want to lose? Where do you want to gain muscle?

Facts: Notice the question did not ask where on your body you want to lose fat. For example, a person could ask to lose fat on their inner thighs. However, spot reduction of fat is a myth. Decreasing fat in the body requires daily calorie expenditure to exceed the calories you eat. The good news is hip adduction exercises would increase muscle strength. When you know where you want to gain muscle you can choose exercises to reflect this. (Reference: ACE American Council on exercise human anatomy study cards)

My Answer: I need to lose overall weight approximately 15 pounds. I want to gain muscles in the butt, abs, and inner and outer thighs while maintaining my arm muscles.

Question: What kind of exercise interests you?

Facts: Everyone’s personality and physical condition are varied. Your range of motion, fitness level, and health will affect the types and levels of activities you choose.  In order to get the most from your workouts decide what motivates you to begin. If you want to lose weight but physical activity doesn’t thrill you try rewarding yourself with a prize after you lose a certain amount. For example, treat yourself to a day at the spa. You may need to have a certain time set aside for exercise. I recommend the beginning of your day if possible. If not then choose a time you can stick to. To keep things fresh, try a variety of activities such as cardio, weight lifting, sports and workout videos.

My Answer: Group and individual exercise interest me. I will design my workouts for these articles to be done at home or a gym. You will need a mat to lie down on or carpeted area and a set of dumbbells for the arm workout. There will be beginner and advance suggestions.

I look forward to sharing my experiences with you. Meanwhile, I hope these questions have led you down the path to find the motivation to increase your daily activity. Remember that you can change the amount of exercise you get by finding the solutions that work for you. The power of will and taking the first step towards change is within our grasp. I believe in you.

Helpful links:  http://www.acefitness.org/exerciselibrary http://www.fitlink.com

About Author Colleen Green

I’m an amateur chef who is passionate about cooking and baking. I’m a writer of romance suspense and also love to read. In order to share my passion about cooking and reading I started The Dayton Book-n-Cook Club. It is about developing friendships by talking about books we love and sharing our favorite food recipes. For more info go to http://www.colleengreen.info. The active part of activeamateurchef represents how I actively promote Dayton businesses. Contact: colleen_grn@yahoo.com Twitter: https://twitter.com/ColleenPGreen

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Achieving a Lean Muscular Body

  1. Hey Colleen,
    Please e-mail me at the address below. Let me know what you would like to post about on my blog, the Fat and the Skinny. Air brushing of photos showing the iconic thinness of models, and their wrinkless faces? Absolutely. I would also love to post on your blog. The way I’ve done it with guest bloggers before is through e-mail. They e-mail the post and then I put it up, usually with a photo/image. And I would do the same.

    Let me know what you think.
    Ciao for now,
    Carole

    I’m at http://Twitter.com/mercedeskat45

    Posted by Carole Di Tosti | January 15, 2012, 1:07 am
  2. Great post ~ interview…very informative 🙂
    xx ~ TDL

    Posted by Trèsors De Luxe | May 10, 2012, 2:56 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,976 other followers

Recipes

Latest Tweets

