//
you're reading...
Books

Interview with Author Tracey Cramer-Kelly

Tracey Cramer-Kelly is the author of military and biker themed romance novels. Her ideas for stories stem from her experiences as an Army Reserve paramedic, helicopter pilot and as a lover of motorcycles. She has been a “biker chick” since she was 16. She owns and manages a motorcycle accessories business called Leader Motorcycle Accessories, for more info go to LeaderMotorcycle.com. The book excerpts and videos on her website are captivating and will leave you wanting to read more.

Novels by Tracey Cramer-Kelly

Last Chance Rescue: a Story of Rescue and Romance in the Rocky Mountains

http://www.traceycramerkelly.com/last-chance-rescue/

 

True Surrender: a Military Romance

http://www.traceycramerkelly.com/true-surrender/

 

Take Two: A Hollywood Romance with a Twist

http://www.traceycramerkelly.com/take-two-hollywood-romance-novel/

 

INTERVIEW

1. How do you come up with your characters?

I might notice a characteristic in someone I’ve met, and give that quirk to a character. Or I might hear a real-life story and think that would make great fiction (my wounded military characters are often inspired by actual soldiers). As a writer I get to ‘pick and choose’ parts of those stories or personalities for my character. I also try to get a sense of my character’s background and past, because those things impact how they make decisions and why they do what they do.

2. You get a lot of inspiration from your own life experiences and put them into your books. Have you ever written about something you had to do a lot of research? Which kind of creative writing do you find more fulfilling between the two?

I’ve been fortunate to have a variety of experiences in my life, such as being a paramedic in the Army National Guard, riding motorcycles, learning to fly a helicopter, performing on stage and in video – and parenting (an experience in itself)! Each has brought me into contact with fascinating people and oddball situations – fertile ground for a writer!

I have a lot of interests, and I like to be constantly learning, so I enjoy a certain amount of research, but I don’t let it keep me from writing. For Last Chance Rescue, I rode along with a search-and-rescue team. For True Surrender, I needed to know about amputations and prosthetic limbs. And for Take Two: a Hollywood Romance, I researched kidney failure and dialysis. I have a natural fascination with sickness and injuries (sometimes to the gory side!) and I tend to use medical situations to create tension and drama in my writing.

3. Who are some of your favorite authors?

That’s a tough one. I like to read a range of topics (I read a lot of military memoir), and I read less now that I need that time to write. However, Suzanne Brockmann, Nicholas Sparks, Nicholas Evans come to mind. Lesser-known (and more recent) faves include: Zoe Dawson, Jennifer Lowery and C.A. Burke’s “Queenie Baby” series.
4. What are some of the most effective ways a new author can promote themselves?

I wish I knew! Honestly. I suspect the secret is to be supremely organized, consistent and relentless (and I am not…well, maybe relentless!) at just two or three strategies. If I were to do it again, I would concentrate on getting three books out before I spent so much time or money on promotion.

5. Do you have a favorite story you’ve written?

Each new book IS my favorite! Okay, seriously… True Surrender has a special place in my heart because of my passion for the topic of wounded veterans and PTSD.

My first dramatic script (Taiko Truehttp://www.traceycramerkelly.com/taiko-true/) is special because of the infusion of music into the storyline (I’m also a musician and vocalist).

I also really enjoy writing about bikers. I’m currently working on a novella that will be part of a biker-themed series that is lighter, sexy and fun (but without sex). It felt good to do something less dramatic and more whimsical. (Sign up for my newsletter for future releases: http://www.TraceyCramerKelly.com)

6. How do you find the time to write?

I have a full-time job (family motorcycle business!) and kids aged 7 and 11, so time is at a premium. I used to write after my kids were in bed (9 or 9:30pm) but I’m not at my most creative at that time! These days I ‘steal’ time whenever and wherever I can. I’m writing this in a coffee shop during a 45-minute lull between a work meeting and picking up my kids at school!

 

Take Two: a Hollywood Romance (Book One in the Lady Biker)

When a 29-year-old Hollywood actor is intentionally poisoned on the set, there’s only one logical thing to do: move in with the 41-year-old Director and her teenage daughters.

EXCERPT: Our hero (Zac) meets Gina’s (heroine’s) teenage daughters for the first time.

            Gingerly Zac stood and crossed the hallway to use the bathroom. Then he followed the sounds to the kitchen area.

            “Oh my gosh, you’re here!” A girl jumped up from the table and threw her arms around him. “You’re really here!”

            He chuckled self-consciously. “I guess you don’t mind having me. You must be…”

            “I’m Allie,” she said. “And that’s my big sister Christine.”

            “We have visitors fairly often,” Christine said. “Lots of overnights for mom’s work. None as famous as you, though.”

            “Famous?” he said. “I think you’ve got me confused with someone else.” He glanced at Gina. It was odd seeing her in a kitchen, making dinner. Like a normal parent…

            “Now that introductions are done,” Gina said, “Do you have an appetite at all? Tonight’s fare is chicken cordon bleu.”

            To his surprise, he felt as though he could actually eat a little something. “I’d like that,” he said. “Though I should probably shower…”

            “Eat first,” Gina said as she placed a hotplate on the table. “Or it may be gone when you get here.”

            His mouth watered and when Allie said, “Sit here, Zac!” he did.

            “You do kind of smell like a hospital,” Allie said.

            “Allie!” Christine said.

            “I sort of still feel like that, too,” Zac said. “Sorry.”

            “It’s okay,” Allie said. “After what you’ve been through and all, we understand.”

            “Hmm.” How much did these girls of Gina’s know?

            “We can show you all the bathroom stuff after dinner,” Allie continued.

            Gina sat in the seat across from him. “Grace,” she said.

            Zac was surprised when Allie grabbed his hand. Then he realized Christine was waiting for him to take hers as well. When he did, the girls bowed their heads. He followed their lead, sitting quietly as they said a prayer. Something about the prayer was familiar; a long-forgotten memory flittered just out of reach.

            “Well, you might not be famous yet.” Allie spooned green beans onto her plate. “But mom says we have to all agree on a story for why you’re here.”

            “Um, Allie…” Gina said.

            “So the story is, you’re our second cousin’s friend,” Allie said. “You got robbed in Mexico, drank bad water, and needed a place to stay.”

            He raised his eyebrows. “Really? You got it all figured out, huh?”

            He glanced at Gina, but she just shrugged and said, “I’m not sure about the robbed part.”

            “Well, how else do you explain that he has no money?” Allie said.

            “You’ve got a point there,” Gina said.

            “Hmm,” Zac said. “Maybe I was scuba diving in Mexico and lost my wallet?”

            Allie appeared to consider that. “Not nearly as exciting.”

            Zac couldn’t help chuckling; Gina had been right about Allie’s imagination. “Okay,” he said, “but I hope no one asks too many questions about Mexico, since I’ve never been there!”

 

Thanks to the author, Tracey Cramer-Kelly for the interview and book excerpt. I appreciated your time and participation. I look forward to reading your books and spreading the word. 

 

Web site: http://www.TraceyCramerKelly.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TraceyCramerKelly
Twitter: https://twitter.com/TraceyCramerKel
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/cramerkelly/

 

Article by Author Colleen Green
Last Words – romance suspense                     
www.colleengreen.info
https://www.facebook.com/authorcolleengreen
https://twitter.com/ColleenPGreen
About Author Colleen Green

I’m an amateur chef who is passionate about cooking and baking. I’m a writer of romance suspense and also love to read. In order to share my passion about cooking and reading I started The Dayton Book-n-Cook Club. It is about developing friendships by talking about books we love and sharing our favorite food recipes. For more info go to http://www.colleengreen.info. The active part of activeamateurchef represents how I actively promote Dayton businesses. Contact: colleen_grn@yahoo.com Twitter: https://twitter.com/ColleenPGreen

Discussion

One thought on “Interview with Author Tracey Cramer-Kelly

  1. Tracey looks to be an author with many varied interests. I’m going to check out her web page to learn more about her writing!

    Posted by Jay Worthen | May 3, 2014, 9:11 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,976 other followers

Recipes

Latest Tweets

